Arcade Fire’s new album is like when Emma Watson got a haircut and I didn’t know what to think

ARCADE-FIRE-REFLEKTOR2

I just finished listening to Arcade Fire’s new album and I’m not really sure what to think.  They’ve long been one of my favorite bands but this new album has an entirely different sound.  Maybe that’s good, maybe that’s bad, but a lot of times I just felt lost listening to the six-plus minute song adventures (hate to compare the two, but similar to the 20/20 experience).  I also didn’t notice the emotional catharsis and heft of many of their prior songs such as “Wake Up” and “Sprawl II”, but that might come with repeat listens.

The reviews I’ve been reading are losing it over “Here Comes the Night Time,” which has a noticeable carnival influence and is definitely worth checking out, but if I had to pick one standout from the album it’s “Afterlife.”  “Afterlife” has that classic Arcade Fire feel, in that it immediately sweeps you up into the music and keeps you there for the entire length of the song.  The chorus is powerful (few bands can pull off heavy themes (afterlife) like Arcade Fire, and I can’t get enough of Renee’s background vocals.

Listen to the whole album, but if you don’t want to spend 90 minutes exploring musical soundscapes then make sure to at least listen to “Afterlife.”

One response to “Arcade Fire’s new album is like when Emma Watson got a haircut and I didn’t know what to think

Leave a comment